Thompson Schedules Nomination Hearing on Kaplan, Goldway

Washington DC–Senate Governmental Affairs Committee Chairman Fred Thompson (R-TN) has announced a hearing on the nominations of Elaine D. Kaplan to be Special Counsel of the Office of Special Counsel and Ruth Y. Goldway to be Commissioner of the Postal Rate Commission. The hearing will be held at 2 pm. on March 30 in Room 342 Dirksen Building. The hearing will be chaired by Senator Thad Cochran (R-MS).

Elaine Kaplan of the District of Columbia has served as Deputy General Counsel at the National Treasury Employees Union (NTEU) since 1988. Previously, she was the Assistant Director of Litigation and Assistant Counsel at the NTEU. Her career also includes work as an attorney in the Office of the Solicitor at the Labor Department from 1979-83. She received a Bachelor of Arts degree from the State University of New York, and a Juris Doctor degree from Georgetown University Law Center.

Ruth Goldway of Santa Monica, California, served as Manager of Public Affairs for the J. Paul Getty Trust from 1991-94. She served previously as the Director of Public Affairs at California State University in Los Angeles from 1986-91, and as Director of Internal Communications and Charitable Contributions Officer for American Medical International from 1983-86. She was elected council member and Mayor of Santa Monica from 1979-83. She has a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Michigan, and a Master of Arts degree from Wayne State University.