Thompson Announces Nomination Hearing for John Walsh and LeGree Daniels to be USPS Governors

(Washington, DC) ? Senate Governmental Affairs Committee Chairman Fred Thompson (R-TN) announced today that the full Committee will hold a hearing on the nominations of John Walsh and LeGree Daniels to be Governors of the United States Postal Service. Ms. Daniels currently serves on the Board of Governors and was first appointed by President Bush in 1990.

The hearing will be chaired by Senator Cochran (R-MS), Chairman of the International Security, Proliferation and Federal Services Subcommittee.

Thursday, October 21, 1999
628 Dirksen Senate Office Building

The Postal Service Board of Governors is the governing body of the U.S. Postal Service. The nine Governors are appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. They, in turn, select the Postmaster General and those 10 select the Deputy Postmaster General. The Postmaster General and Deputy Postmaster General are also members of the Board.

The U.S. Postal Service Board of Governors directs and controls the expenditures of the Postal Service, reviews its practices and policies, and establishes basic objectives and long range goals consistent with the provisions of the Postal Reorganization Act.

# # #