Governmental Affairs Committee to Hold Nominations Hearing

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Senate Governmental Affairs Committee Chairman Susan Collins (R-ME) and Ranking Member Joe Lieberman (D-CT) announced that the committee will hold a hearing on Wednesday, April 2, 2003, to consider the nominations of Clay Johnson, III to be Deputy Director for Management, Office of Management and Budget, and Albert Casey and James C. Miller, III, to be Governors for the United States Postal Service.

Clay Johnson was nominated on January 28, 2003, to be Deputy Director for Management at the Office of Management and Budget. He currently serves as Assistant to the President, Director of Presidential Personnel and was Executive Director of the Bush-Cheney Presidential Transition. Prior to that, he served as Appointments Director and then Executive Assistant for then-Governor George W. Bush in Texas (1994-2000). He also was Deputy Director/Chief Operating Officer of the Dallas Museum of Art (1992-94), Marketing Director and later President of Horchow Mail Order (1981-91), and Area Vice President of Citicorp Person to Person (1979-81). He also was Vice President of Marketing, Racket Sport with Wilson Sporting Goods (1978-79), and held various management positions with Frito Lay (1970-78). He holds a B.S. from Yale and a M.S. from the Sloan School of Business at MIT.

Albert Casey was originally nominated last Congress and re-nominated this year to be on the Postal Board of Governors. Mr. Casey is a Distinguished Executive in Residence, Edwin L. Cox of Business, Southern Methodist University. Prior to that, he was President and CEO of the Resolution Trust Corporation (1991-93), Chairman and CEO of First Republic Bank Corporation (1988-89), and an Ann Cox Distinguished Professor of Business Policy at Southern Methodist University (1986-88). Earlier in his career, he served as Postmaster General of the Postal Service (1986). In addition, he served in various executive capacities at AMR Corp./American Airlines (1974-85), The Times Mirror Company (1963-74), and REA Express (1961-63). He also has served on more than 20 Boards of Directors of various companies including Ion Track Instruments, MAD Aerospace Industries, Colgate-Palmolive Company, and Sears, Roebuck & Co. He holds a B.S. in Economics from Harvard University and an M.B.A. from the Harvard School of Business.

James Miller was originally nominated last Congress and re-nominated this year to be on the Postal Board of Governors. Mr. Miller is Chairman of CapAnalysis (an affiliate of Howrey Simon Arnold & White). He also serves as a Distinguished Fellow with the Center for Study of Public Choice at George Mason University and as a Senior Fellow of the Hoover Institution at Stanford University. He serves on a number of Boards of Directors including the Boards of Washington Mutual Investors Fund, Atlantic Coast Airlines, The Tax Exempt Fund of Maryland and Virginia, J.P. Morgan Value Opportunities Fund, and the Recipco Corporation. Previously, he served as Director of the Office of Management and Budget (1985-88), Vice Chairman of the Administrative Conference of the United States (1987-88), Chairman of the U.S. Federal Trade Commission (1981-85), and Administrator of the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (1981). He holds a B.B.A. in Economics from the University of Georgia and a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Virginia.

The hearing will be aired on committee Channel 11 and will be aired live via the Internet on the committee’s web page at