WASHINGTON – The four Senate co-sponsors of bipartisan and comprehensive cybersecurity legislation – Senators Joe Lieberman, ID-Conn., Susan Collins, R-Maine, Jay Rockefeller, D-W.Va., and Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif. – issued the following reaction Friday to partial action in the House on  cybersecurity.

“We congratulate the House for passing cyber information sharing and research and development legislation, necessary but by no means comprehensive elements of a cyber security legislative strategy. We are troubled House leaders blocked consideration of protections for critical infrastructure systems, ignoring the advice of our military and intelligence leaders as well as most cybersecurity experts. These systems are at risk – no one contests that — which means the American people are at risk. The Senate cybersecurity bill provides comprehensive protection for these systems. We look forward to debating and passing that bill so that we can conference with the House and produce legislation that secures the most critical systems on which all American people and businesses depend each day.”



Become a fan of the Committee on Facebook