Delegation Appreciates Disaster Declaration for Western Alaska

Washington, D.C. – Alaska’s Congressional Delegation was pleased to see results, after they supported Governor Parnell’s request for a disaster declaration by urging the White House give “immediate and positive assistance” to storm-afflicted Western Alaska communities. Today the White House released the following information:

On December 22, 2011, President Obama issued a major disaster declaration for the State of Alaska triggering the release of Federal funds to help communities recover from severe winter storms and flooding which occurred November 8-10, 2011. Details of the disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows:

Incident: Severe Winter Storms and Flooding

Incident Period: November 8-10, 2011

Public Assistance (PA): Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

PA – Designated Counties: The North Slope Borough, the Bering Strait Regional Educational Attendance Area (REAA), the Lower Kuskokwim REAA, the lower Yukon REAA, and the Southwest Region REAA.

Hazard Mitigation (HM): Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards.

HM – Designated Boroughs: All boroughs and REAAs in the State of Alaska are eligible to apply for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

OTHER: Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

On December 8, the Alaska Delegation sent the attached letter to President Obama, asking for federal attention be given the region “from Hooper Bay to the North Slope” that was hit by “a winter storm of a magnitude not seen in decades.”