Witness List for Second Day of Hearings on Independent Counsel Act

WASHINGTON — Governmental Affairs Committee Chairman Fred Thompson (R-TN) and Ranking Member Joseph Lieberman (D-CT) today announced the committee will hear testimony from the following witnesses regarding the furture of the Independent Counsel Act on Wednesday, March 3, beginning at 10:00 a.m. in 216 Hart (note room change):

Panel I
Robert S. Bennett
Counsel for President Clinton and Harold Ickes
Former Counsel for Secretary of Defense Casper Weinberger

Theodore B. Olson
Assistant Attorney General during the Reagan Administration
Former investigation subject

Nathan Lewin
Former Counsel for Attorney General Edwin Meese

Panel II
Henry Ruth
Special Prosecutor of the Watergate Special Prosecution Force

George Beall
U.S. Attorney for Maryland who prosecuted Vice-President Agnew

Robert Fiske
Regulatory Independent Counsel for the initial Whitewater Investigation