Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee Approves 14 Bills, Including DHS Nomination

WASHINGTON The Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee approved 14 bills, including a number of border security bills and the Department of Homeland Security General Counsel nomination.

Bills were passed by voice vote unless otherwise noted.


1. Nomination of John M. Mitnick to be General Counsel, U.S. Department of Homeland Security.


1. S. 146, Border Security Technology Accountability Act of 2017;

2. S. 1887, Direct Hire of Students and Recent Graduates Act of 2017;

3. S. 1886, Temporary and Term Appointments Act of 2017;

4. S. 1888, Voluntary Separation Incentive Payment Adjustment Act of 2017;

5. S. 1847, Homeland Security for Children Act;

6. S. 1867, FITARA Enhancement Act of 2017. 

7. S. 1884, Reporting Efficiently to Proper Officials in Response to Terrorism

Act of 2017;

8. S. 1281, Hack the Department of Homeland Security Act of 2017;

9. S. 1769, Connected Government Act;

10. S. 1869, Whistleblower Protection Coordination Act;

11. S. 1305, U.S. Customs and Border Protection Hiring and Retention Act of 2017;

12. S. 1791, Presidential Allowance Modernization Act of 2017;

13. H. R. 3210, Securely Expediting Clearances Through Reporting Transparency

Act of 2017;

14. H.R. 70, Federal Advisory Committee Act Amendments of 2017.