Sen. Carper Joins Whistleblower Protection Caucus

WASHINGTON – Today, Sen. Tom Carper (D-Del.), ranking member of the Committee on Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, joined the Whistleblower Protection Caucus. The bipartisan caucus, chaired by Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), focuses its mission on raising awareness of the value and need to protect individuals who call attention to fraud, waste and misconduct.

“Whistleblowers can help Congress improve the effectiveness and efficiency of the federal government by shining a light on wrongdoing or misbehavior and helping root out waste, fraud and abuse. These brave individuals help uphold the integrity of the missions they serve and can spark positive change. I look forward to working with my colleagues in this caucus to ensure that individuals can feel free to speak out without fear of retaliation,” Sen. Carper said.

The Whistleblower Protection Caucus was founded earlier this year to foster bipartisan discussion on legislative issues affecting the treatment of whistleblowers and serve as a clearinghouse for current information on whistleblower developments of interest in the Senate.

Other members of the caucus include Sens. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.), Mark Kirk (R-Ill.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), and Ed Markey (D-Mass.).