Peters & Portman Announce Chairs and Ranking Members of New Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Subcommittees

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Gary Peters (D-MI) and Rob Portman (R-OH), Chairman and Ranking Member of the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee, today announced the reorganization of the committee’s three subcommittees, and their Chairs and Ranking Members for the 117th Congress.

“Right now, Americans are facing severe and rapidly changing threats to our national security, as well as significant challenges in the efficient operation of federal agencies from the Department of Homeland Security to the U.S. Postal Service,” said Chairman Peters. “These subcommittees will play a vital role in conducting thorough oversight to ensure the federal government is working efficiently, that taxpayer dollars are being used responsibly, and that our committee is looking ahead to address not only the threats of today, but the challenges of tomorrow. I look forward to working with these key leaders and all of our colleagues as our committee works to strengthen our national security and ensure government is serving the American people effectively.”

“I’m pleased to join Chairman Peters in announcing the reorganization of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee’s three subcommittees and their bipartisan leadership,” said Ranking Member Portman. “These Subcommittee leaders are tasked with ensuring efficient federal regulatory processes and transparency in how taxpayer money is spent, addressing emerging national security concerns, and conducting thorough and efficient oversight of the federal government. I look forward to working with these Subcommittee leaders and all of my colleagues on the Committee over the course of this Congress to perform bipartisan oversight of our federal agencies and craft legislation to protect Ohio and our country from growing threats.”

Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations 
Chair: U.S. Senator Jon Ossoff (D-GA)
Ranking Member: U.S. Senator Ron Johnson (R-WI)

Subcommittee on Emerging Threats and Spending Oversight
Chair: U.S. Senator Maggie Hassan (D-NH)
Ranking Member: U.S. Senator Rand Paul (R-KY)

Subcommittee on Government Operations and Border Management
Chair: U.S. Senator Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)
Ranking Member: U.S. Senator James Lankford (R-OK)

The Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations has broad jurisdiction to conduct oversight and investigations of the U.S. government; the compliance of companies, individuals and other entities with U.S. law; as well as other matters affecting the national health, welfare, and safety. The subcommittee has investigated organized crime, securities and commodities fraud, and the use of offshore banking to carry out criminal activities among many other issues.

The Subcommittee on Emerging Threats and Spending Oversight (formerly the Subcommittee on Federal Spending Oversight and Emergency Management) is responsible for the prevention of waste, fraud and abuse of taxpayer dollars; examining emerging national security threats and federal preparedness to respond to those threats; and improving threat prevention coordination between the federal government and state, local, Tribal and territorial governments, among other matters.

The Subcommittee on Government Operations and Border Management (formerly the Subcommittee on Regulatory Affairs and Federal Management) is charged with assessing the management and operations of the nation’s border; conducting oversight of management and efficiency of government agencies and operations; and reviewing federal rulemaking, contracting and procurement policies among other responsibilities.